Russia set for NEA membership

24 October 2011

Russia is set to become a member of the OECD Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA) following the signature of a directive by the country's prime minister Vladimir Putin, Interfax reported. The decree directs Russia's Ministry of Foreign Affairs to notify the agency of the country's intention to join, and the Russian finance ministry to include money for membership fees in future budgets. Russia will be represented by its Ministry of Foreign Affairs, nuclear regulator Rostechnadzor and state atomic energy corporation Rosatom. The NEA is a specialised agency within the OECD intergovernmental organization which assists its members in maintaining and developing the scientific, technological and legal bases required for the safe, environmentally friendly and economical use of nuclear energy through international co-operation. Its membership currently stands at 30 industrialised nations from Europe, North America and the Asia-Pacific region.