China and Russia sign general contract for two Xudabao units

06 June 2019

The general contract for Russian-designed VVER-1200 reactors for units 3 & 4 of the Xudabao nuclear power plant in China's Liaoning province was signed yesterday in Moscow in the presence of the countries' heads of state.

The signing ceremony had been planned to coincide with Chinese President Xi Jinping's state visit to Russia (Image: Kremlin)

The contract was signed by representatives of Rosatom's engineering subsidiary ASE and China National Nuclear Corporation (CNNC).

In June last year, Russia and China signed four agreements, including for the construction of two VVER-1200 reactors as units 7 and 8 of the Tianwan plant. In addition, two VVER-1200 units are to be constructed at the new Xudabao site.

Alexey Likhachov, general director of the Russian state nuclear corporation, said: "Today, we have moved a Russian-designed NPP construction project on a new site to the practical stage of its implementation. Taking into account the previously signed contract for the Tianwan NPP, together with our –°hinese partners we will build four of the latest Generation 3+ power units by 2028."

In March the general contract for the construction of two Russian-supplied reactors at the Tianwan nuclear power plant in Jiangsu province was signed. In addition, a technical design contract was signed for a second pair of reactors for Xudabao.

The Xudabao project was originally expected to comprise six Chinese-designed CAP1000 reactors, with units 1 and 2 in the first phase. Site preparation began in November 2010. The National Development and Reform Commission gave its approval for the project in January 2011. China's National Nuclear Safety Administration announced its approval of the site selection for Xudabao units 1 and 2 in April 2014.

Rosatom said it expects to commission Tianwan units 7 and 8 in 2026-2027 and Xudabao units 3 and 4 in 2027-2028.

Researched and written by World Nuclear News