Kenya sets up nuclear committee

30 November 2010

The Kenyan government has set up a nuclear electricity project committee to fast-track the development of nuclear energy in the country. The 13-member committee has been established for a three-year term with a remit that includes the preparation and implementation of a detailed road map to meet International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) terms and conditions for approval of nuclear plant construction, including a comprehensive legal and regulatory framework, as well as the identification of suitable plant sites on the Kenyan coast. The committee is headed by former energy minister Ochilo Ayacko and comes under the remit of the nation's Vision 2030 development strategy.