AtomEnergoProm established, board named

10 July 2007

[Rosatom, 7 July; Associated Press, 10 July] Russian prime minister Mikhail Fradkov signed an order on 7 July establishing the charter of the country's new state-owned nuclear power company, AtomEnergoProm (AEP). President Vladimir Putin signed a decree on 27 April ordering the company's formation. AEP will amalgamate the country's most significant nuclear enterprises: AtomEnergoMash; AtomStroyExport; Rosenergoatom; Technabsexport (Tenex); and TVEL. According to the decree, AEP and its affiliates will be responsible for a wide array of nuclear industry activities, including research and development, uranium mining, nuclear power plant construction and radioactive waste management. In addition, Fradkov approved the membership of AEP's board of directors. Sergei Kiriyenko, head of Russia's Federal Atomic Energy Agency (Rosatom) has been appointed as chair, while his deputy, Vladimir Travin, has been appointed as a director. In addition, the deputy head of the government staff Igor Borovkov, as well as Rosatom deputy directors Tatiana Elfimova and Ivan Kamenskikh, have also been appointed as directors of AEP. AEP will be one of the biggest nuclear companies in the world, on the scale of France's giant Areva. However, AEP will have the distinction of encompassing the full nuclear fuel cycle, nuclear design and construction and engineering, and the key business of power generation itself.

Further information

WNA's Nuclear Power in Russia information paper

WNN: Putin signs AtomEnergoProm decree
AtomEnergoProm decree in final stages